top of page

Twitter Suspends Account after tweets to Tory MP's asking them to Cross the Floor

Twitter earlier today suspended my account for lobbying Tory MP's to Cross the Floor when Parliament reopens on the 19th of June. They have also deleted the hashtag I was using for this campaign which was #demandtheycross,

They have in one move undone days of campaigning for civil liberties and human rights in regards to the proposed deal between the Conservatives and the DUP,

I was very careful with the wording of my tweets, here is a copy of the tweet that was sent to Lobby some Scottish Conservative MP's.

Say No to Homophobia, Say No to Sectarianism, Say Yes to Womens Rights @mpsname Please “Cross the Floor” on the 19th June #demandtheycross Twitter have so far chosen not to reinstate my account nor have they replied to my case numbered email, a copy of which is detailed below... I am unsure as to when I will get my account back if indeed I ever do, and to be honest I don't really care about the account, but what I do care about is Twitter being selective on political campaigns by deleting or censoring hastags. After all isn't twitter meant to be the ultimate tool for free speech in this modern digitalised world.

My activity for the day shows that there were 16 direct tweets and 17 replies to other tweets none contained any abuse, inflammatory or bad language and 35 tweets is hardly spam. It is also worth pointing out that not one of those that I tweeted to either replied or messaged me complaining, neither did any of them block me.

No doubt twitter will have a rule to justify its actions and will respond with standard replies giving no explanation whatsoever, and why should they, they are after all accountable to no one but themselves.

The hashtag was a direct line for many including MP's to be able to freely voice their opinions and was started inline with twitters recommendations and in compliance with its terms of service.

The damage that twitter has today done to my online campaign for Human Rights is incomprehensible.

Here is a screenshot showing the now deleted hashtag

---------------------------- Below is a Copy of My Response to Twitters Support email ------------------------------

Dear Twitter I have still not received an unlock code for my account, I do not believe that I have violated any terms or rules, the suspension came after I started using twitter to lobby MP's regarding Homophobia, Sectarianism and Womens Rights, the hashtag being used was also deleted by yourselves, the hashtag #demandtheycross was used to start the campaign to lobby MP's to cross the floor of Parliament in protest, most tweets were very similar with just the MP's username being changed. I cannot understand why Twitter would consider a democratic process as spam. If you are unsure about this democratic process please feel free to visit https://thestoryparty.wixsite.com/breaking-the-news/single-post/2017/06/10/Tory-MPs-Being-Urged-to-Cross-the-Floor where I have detailed the process and supplied links to Government papers and legislation on the use of that process by Members of Parliament. The hashtag and all its related posts has now been removed & many users are very disappointed that twitter would delete a hashtag that is being used to support a democratic process. I am particularly concerned with the timing of this suspension as there is limited time for MP's to look at the details of this matter and make an informed decision. I would like to regain control of my account and therefore request Twitter to grant me swift access to my account unless it is twitters intention to stifle my campaign to lobby Members of Parliament by restricting my access to twitter. Regards Campaigner for Human Rights Say No to Homophobia, Say No to Sectarianism, Say Yes to Human Rights

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


bottom of page